

COMMUNIQUE

ON THE 4TH SUMMIT OF THE COMMITTEE OF PARTICIPATING HEADS OF STATE
AND GOVERNMENT OF THE AFRICAN PEER REVIEW MECHANISM [APR FORUM]
22 JANUARY 2006, KHARTOUM, SUDAN

The 4th Summit of APR Forum will be held on **22 January 2006 in Khartoum**, Sudan and will be chaired by H.E. Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Chairperson of the APR Forum. The Summit will be preceded by the 15th meeting of the Panel of Eminent Persons of the African Peer Review Mechanism [APR Panel] scheduled on **18-19 January 2006** also in Khartoum, Sudan.

The Country Review Reports of Ghana and Rwanda were presented to the APR Forum, which is the highest decision-making authority of the APRM, at its $3^{\rm rd}$ Summit held on 19 June 2005 in Abuja, Nigeria.

The APRM, which was adopted by the participating Heads of State and Government on 9 March 2003, is an instrument voluntarily acceded to by Member States of the African Union as an African self-monitoring governance mechanism. The objective of the APRM is to ensure that the policies and practices of participating states conform to the internationally agreed governance values, codes and standards as a means of fostering political stability, economic growth, sustainable development and accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration. The APR Forum has ultimate responsibility for oversight of the APRM organisation and processes, for mutual learning and capacity building, and for exercising the constructive peer dialogue and persuasion required to make the APRM effective, credible, and acceptable.

The 4th Summit of the APR Forum will conduct of the "peer review" of Ghana and Rwanda. The "peer review" is a process of sharing of information and experiences and mutual learning with a view to assisting the country concerned in improving on identified weaknesses as well as providing other participating countries in learning from the best practices of the country under review.

At present, 23 have formally acceded to the process namely Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Egypt, Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, South

Africa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Tanzania and Uganda. The Khartoum Summit will also provide an opportunity to the three countries which expressed their intentions to participate in the APRM namely: Sao Tome & Principe, Sudan and Zambia to formally accede to the APRM by signing the Memorandum of Understanding on the APRM. With the accession of Sao Tome & Principe, Sudan and Zambia, the total number of participating countries in the APRM will reach 26.

Contacts:

Sudir Chuckun, Advisor: Office of the Executive Director- Tel: + 27 11 313 3770

Cell: +27 83 704 4500 e-mail: sudirc@nepad.org

Louis Napo GNAGBE Media Manager - Tel: +27 11 313 3816 - Cell: +27 83 440 4518 e-mail: napoq@nepad.org